The state wrestling tournament will be held Thursday through Saturday at Ohio State University's Jerome Schottenstein Center in Columbus. The top 16 wrestlers in each weight class have qualified for state competition, and area athletes and coaches are well represented in all three divisions. Below is a look area wrestlers who are headed to the state capital with a chance to bring home the hardware, and each athlete's 2017 record is in parenthesis. Scheduling information for the tournament is also posted below along with ticket information.

Division I

106-- Andy Graham, Louisville (38-9)

113-- Kyle Gruber, Perry (32-12)

138-- Jax Leonard. Louisville (47-10); Gary Define, Perry (52-9)

145-- Andrew Murphy, Dover (43-5); Malachi Strickland, Perry (24-6)

152-- Braxton Freeman, Jackson (40-12); David Carr, Perry (44-4)

160-- Joe Koontz, Perry (41-8)

170-- Luke Reicosky, Hoover (36-7); Emil Soehnlen, Perry (47-5)

182-- Victor Marcelli, Jackson (12-0); Zach Blackiston, Perry (34-13)

195-- Jimmy Leonard, Luisville (38-8)

220-- Dillon Smith, Hoover (47-6); Adam Luster, Perry (24-14)

285-- Matt Carrick, Perry 27-6

Division II

106-- Jarrett Warrington, Claymont (25-130; Thane Kaufman, West Holmes (47-6);

Christian Wayt (West Branch) (37-4)

113-- Brady O'Connor, Indian Valley (40-8); Cael Woods West Holmes (41-7)

120-- Dalton Burcher, Indian Valley (42-4)

126-- Derek Dolph, Canton South (38-8); Hunter Kosco, Northwest (37-3)

Adam Lenhoff, Indian Valley (47-4); Maxx Peters, Claymont (37-6)

132-- Clandler Golec, Claymont (25-8); Josh Smith, Northwest (24-9);

Ben Pasiuk, Carrollton (55-3)

138-- Dakota Bunting, Claymont (24-8); Parker Utley, Alliance (27-6);

Justin Shaw, Carrollton (53-6)

145-- Adam Shaw, Carrollton (52-6); Dylan Miller, West Branch (34-9)

160-- Khord Moore, Canton South (41-7); Ashton Eyler, Claymont (33-4)

170-- Tarin Rauch, Claymont (27-9); Brenton Miller, Carrollton (47-6)

182-- Duce Johnson, Alliance (42-6); Aidan Pasiuk, Carrollton (56-0)

195-- Blake Bollon, New Philadelphia (21-5); Herrell Martin, Alliance (41-7)

285-- Alex Leasure, Alliance (20-15); Ian Sharp, West Branch (35-1)

Division III

106-- Jacob Kuhlins, Tuslaw (46-8)

113-- Zach Larue, Manchester (23-5); Ben Ruegg, Fairless (38-11)

120-- Brier Marthey, Tuslaw (40-13)

126-- Connor Brennan, Tuslaw (40-14)

132-- Isaac Elliot, Tuslaw (51-8); Michael Yacapraro, Triway (42-5)

138-- Gavin Stika, Norwayne (41-2); Brian Persinger, Triway (40-7)

145-- Kyle Ryder, Tuslaw (48-8)

152-- Hunter Stoffer, Sandy Valley (28-5)

160-- Kyle Ice, Waynedale (37-3); Elvis Conkle, Tuslaw (23-6);

Bailey Blair, Smithville (39-7)

170-- Manny Garza, Rittman (17-3); Logan Stanley, Waynedale (54-1)

182-- Zach Steiner, Norwayne (36-2); Nick Shepard, Fairless (42-5;

Gunner Angel, Garaway (34-12)

195-- John Kelbly, Smithville (34-2); Logan Hall, Tuslaw (55-4)

220-- Jason Newlan, Smithville (33-3)

285-- Francesco Borsellino, Sandy Valley (13-0); Brayden Phillips, Tuslaw (48-10);

Joe Warren, Smithville (29-16)

Scheuling information for all three days of the 2017 is as follows:

Thursday, March 9

3:00pm Session Number 1 (Championship Preliminaries & Consolation Round 1) begins: mat 10
3:00pm Division III Championship Preliminaries
4:10pm Division II Championship Preliminaries
5:40pm Division I Championship Preliminaries
7:10pm Division III Consolation Round 1
7:50pm Division II Consolation Round 1
8:30pm Division I Consolation Round 1
Friday, March 10
0:00am Session Number 2 (Quarterfinals & Consolations Round 2) begins: 10 mats
10:00am Division III Championship Quarterfinals
10:35am Division II Championship Quarterfinals
11:20am Division I Championship Quarterfinals
12:15pm Division III Consolations Round 2
12:50pm Division II Consolations Round 2
1:40pm Division I Consolations Round 2
6:30pm Session Number 3 (Semifinals & Consolation Quarterfinals) begins: 9 mats
6:30pm Division I Championship Semifinals Mats 1 & 2
6:30pm Division I Consolation Quarterfinals Mat 3
6:30pm Division II Championship Semifinals Mats 4 & 5
6:30pm Division II Consolation Quarterfinals Mat 6
6:30pm Division III Championship Semifinals Mats 7 & 8
6:30pm Division III Consolation Quarterfinals Mat 9
8:40pm Division I Consolation Quarterfinals continue on Mats 1-3
8:40pm Division II Consolation Quarterfinals continue on Mats 4-6
8:40pm Division III Consolation Quarterfinals continue on Mats 7-9
Saturday, March 11
10:00am Session Number 4 (Consolations) begins: 9 mats
10:00am Division I, II & III Consolation Semifinals
11:00am Division I, II & III Third, Fifth & Seventh place matches will be wrestled concurrently.
5:30pm Session Number 5 (All Finals) begins: 3 mats
5:30pm Parade of Champions
5:45pm Division I, II & III First place matches will be wrestled concurrently

All session tickets are available for $75 (lower level) and $55 (upper level). Individual session tickets are priced at $15 each and tickets go on sale at 8 a.m. each day during the tournament.



08-Mar-2017 08-Mar-2017

Latest Stories


In an effort to re-emphasize that Friday nights in the fall should be reserved for high school football, the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) has adopted a resolution that urges schools and teams at the college and professional levels to honor that longstanding tradition and schedule games on other days.


Glenoak graduate Heather Lyke, who has 22 years of athletic administration experience at the collegiate level, was hired the new Athletic Director at the University of Pittsburgh on March 20. Lyke served in that same capacity at Eastern Michigan the past four seasons and becomes the first female AD in Pitt's 106 year history.


Jackson quarterback Jaret Pallotta can rest easy heading into his senior season. As far as his college choice is concerned, that is. Pallotta put the finishing touches on a banner year for Polar Bear athletics by announcing his verbal commitment to play football at the University of Massachusetts. Pallotta will play for head coach Mark Whipple, who is well known for his offensive prowess at both the professional and collegiate levels. Whipple helped Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger capture a Super Bowl in his second professional season.


After years of study and careful consideration, the Ohio High School Athletic Association has decided that Friday is the best night for high school football playoff games. The OHSAA board of directors voted to move Division I playoff games to Friday night for the first time since 1980 last year, and it followed suit by moving all seven divisions to Friday nights in 2017. The only exception to all Friday playoff contests will be state championship games, which will take place November 30 through December 2 at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton.